© 2024 WHRO Public Media
5200 Hampton Boulevard, Norfolk VA 23508
757.889.9400 | info@whro.org
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

WHRO Public Media Awards 2024

WHRO Public Media has been honored to win several awards recently. From journalism reports and television documentaries to services provided by our WHRO Education team, we are excited to be recognized.

“WHRO Public Media is committed to delivering outstanding content that enriches and educates our community. We are honored by these awards and nominations,” stated Bert Schmidt, president and CEO of WHRO.

Below is a list of our 2024 Awards.

Telly Awards


General-Student: Curate U: Nomorama

General-Sustainability: GreenBeats: Foam Free

General-Student: Curate U: Redeemed Art


General-Music, Dance & Performance: ASwinging Christmas - Live at WHRO

Series-Arts & Culture: Curate 757 Season 8

General-Nature & Wildlife: Curate 757: Pam Ponce

General-Culture & Lifestyle: Curate 757: Will Liverman


General-Biography: Curate 757: Mia Guile

General-DEI: Diversity, Equity & Inclusion: Curate 757: Roberta Lea

General-Biography: Curate 757: Victor Wooten

General-Education & Training: Curate 757: Wynton Marsalis

General-DEI: Diversity, Equity & Inclusion: Exodus: Homecoming

General-Video Journalism: Historic Community Fights Flooding

Pictures of the Year International

First Place, Documentary Film Category: "Uprooted"

Education Writers Association Awards

Brandi Kellam, Louis Hansen & Gabriel Sandoval of the  Virginia Center for Investigative Journalism at WHRO & ProPublica are finalists in the category of Collaborations: All Newsroom Sizes for " Uprooted"

2024 Paul Tobenkin Memorial Award

Series of stories “Uprooted: An Eminent Domain Documentary" Brandi Kellam, an investigative journalist with the Virginia Center for Investigative Journalism (VCIJ) at WHRO, and Louis Hansen, an editor and investigative journalist at VCIJ.

The Paul Tobenkin Award, named in honor of the late New York Herald Tribune reporter, recognizes outstanding achievements in reporting on racial or religious hatred, intolerance, or discrimination in the United States.

Other contributors to the reporting include former ProPublica research reporter Gabriel Sandoval, Christopher Tyree of Virginia Center for Investigative Journalism at WHRO, and Lisa Riordan Seville and Mauricio Rodríguez Pons, both of ProPublica.

Virginias Associated Press Broadcasters

Radio - Best Continuing News: First Place Katherine Hafner, "Norfolk's Floodwall Plan"

Radio - Best Sports Feature: First Place Connor Worley, "MEAC Makes Mark on HBCU Esports With First Championship Tournament"

2024 National Headliner Award

Third Place - “Uprooted: How Public Universities Expanded by Displacing Black Communities”

Brandi Kellam, Louis Hansen and Gabriel Sandoval
Virginia Center for Investigative Journalism at WHRO

View past awards: 20232022 | 2021