© 2024 WHRO Public Media
5200 Hampton Boulevard, Norfolk VA 23508
757.889.9400 | info@whro.org
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Little Women: Series Premieres May 13

Tune in to WHRO to see the three part adaptation of  Little Women. The television series begins May 13 and ends May 20. Each episode of the series will last an hour and is produced by PBS' Masterpiece productions and BBC's Playground production companies. The novel, written by Louisa May Alcott takes place in Concord, Massachusetts during the Civil War and is about four young women whom learn about love, sibling rivalry and the reality of transitioning from children to young adults.

Four sisters, Jo, Meg, Beth and Amy, live with their mother and struggle with financial hardship during the Civil War. Their father, a chaplain, is at war, and the sisters as well as their mother, must find a way to support themselves without his presence. Together through tragedy and economic hardship, these sisters learn about loyalty and the bond of sisterly affections. Throughout the story, the sisters experience the ups and down of life and ultimately learn more about themselves and each other. At the end of the film, the sisters build separate, happy lives.

The Little Women cast includes Angela Lansbury, Emily Watson, Dylan Baker and Michael Gambon. For more information or to see a full list of the Little Women cast, visit  IMDB or PBS

Watch the full series on WHRO Passport.